Laws Concerning Carrying Concealed Firearms on Campus in Mississippi


Mississippi’s conceal carry law (2011) declares that colleges and universities can no longer prohibit concealed weapons for those who have completed a voluntary “enhanced” training program for a concealed carry license.  According to an Official Memo from the office of Attorney General Jim Hood, those with an “enhanced” concealed carry permit must have the proper documentation with them at all times.  Because the law remains unclear, many colleges and universities have banned firearms from dorms, events centers, dining halls and other buildings.

Please see each individual school’s weapons policy for more details.  To obtain an “enhanced” Carry Permit, an individual must complete “an instructional course in the safe handling and use of firearms offered by an instructor certified by a nationally recognized organization that customarily offers.”

College Town Type
Alcorn State University Lorman 4-year
Belhaven University Jackson 4-year
Blue Mountain College Blue Mountain 4-year
Coahoma Community College Clarksdale 2-year
Copiah-Lincoln Community College Wesson, Natchez, Magee 2-year
Delta State University Cleveland 4-year
East Central Community College Decatur 2-year
East Mississippi Community College Scooba, Mayhew, Columbus 2-year
Hinds Community College Raymond 2-year
Holmes Community College Goodman 2-year
Itawamba Community College Fulton 2-year
Jackson State University Jackson 4-year
Jones County Junior College Ellisville 2-year
Meridian Community College Meridian 2-year
Millsap College Jackson 4-year
Mississippi College Clinton 4-year
Mississippi Delta Community College Moorhead 2-year
Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College Perkinston, Gulfport, Lucedale, Keesler AFB, Long Beach 2-year
Mississippi State University Starkville 4-year
Mississippi University for Women Columbus 4-year
Mississippi Valley State University Itta Bena 4-year
Northeast Mississippi Community College Booneville, Corinth, New Albany 2-year
Northwest Mississippi Community College Senatobia, Ashland, Southaven, Olive Branch, Oxford 2-year
Pearl River Community College Poplarville 2-year
Rust College Holly Springs 4-year
Southwest Mississippi Community College Summit 2-year
Tougaloo College Tougaloo 4-year
University of Mississippi Oxford 4-year
University of Southern Mississippi Hattiesburg 4-year

Updated: September 12, 2019

Disclaimer: Policies are subject to change at any time, both during and between school years. In addition, individual school policies commonly include more details than can be succinctly captured by Each school should be consulted for its most accurate, up-to-date policy.