Laws Concerning Carrying Concealed Firearms on Campus in Texas

Effective Dates:  August 1, 2016 for all state 4-year colleges and universities; August 1, 2017, for all state 2-year and junior colleges.

The new Texas law permits individuals who have obtained a concealed handgun license (CHL) to carry their loaded, concealed weapon in college and university buildings.  Each college and university may determine certain sensitive areas and buildings* where concealed weapons will continue to be prohibited. Each college and university must publically display campus policies on the official school website, as well as widely publicize them through correspondence with the institution’s faculty, staff, and students. Previous laws permitting concealed carry with a license on open campus grounds and in locked vehicles in parking lots will remain unchanged (see note #1 below).

Link to law:

#1 NOTE – EXCEPTION FOR GUNS IN VEHICLES (this exception remains in place with respect to the new law taking effect in 2016/2017)

On June 14, 2013, Governor Perry signed into law SB 1907, which states that an institution of higher education or private or independent institution of higher education may not adopt or enforce any rule, regulation, or other provision or take any other action, including posting notice under Section 30.06, Penal Code, prohibiting or placing restrictions on the storage or transportation of a firearm or ammunition in a locked, privately owned or leased motor vehicle by a person, including a student enrolled at that institution, who holds a license to carry a concealed handgun and lawfully possesses the firearm or ammunition:

(1)  on a street or driveway located on the campus of the institution; or

(2)  In a parking lot, parking garage, or other parking area located on the campus of the institution.

The Act took effect on September 1, 2013.

Texas’ Colleges Where Concealed Guns on Campus are Permitted by Law

College Town Type (4 year, 2 year, private)
Alamo College District San Antonio 2 year
Alvin Community College Brazoria County 2 year
Amarillo College Amarillo 2 year
Amberton University Garland Private
Angelina College Lufkin 2 year
Angelo State University San Angleo 4 year
Austin Community College Austin 2 year
Blinn College Brenham 2 year
Brazosport College Lake Jackson 2 year
Central Texas College Killeen 2 year
Cisco College Cisco 2 year
Clerendon College Clerendon 2 year
Coastal Bend College Beeville 2 year
College of the Mainland Texas City 2 year
Collin College Collin County 2 year
Dallas County Community College Dallas County 2 year
Del Mar College Corpus Christi 2 year
East Texas Baptist University Marshall Private
El Paso Community College El Paso 2 year
Frank Phillips College Borger 2 year
Galveston College Galveston 2 year
Grayson College Denison 2 year
Hill College Hillsboro 2 year
Houston Community College Houston 2 year
Howard College Big Spring 2 year
Kilgore College Kilgore 2 year
Lamar University Beaumont 4 year
Laredo Community College Laredo 2 year
Lee College Baytown 2 year
Lone Star College Houston 2 year
McLennen College McLennan County 2 year
Midland College Midland 2 year
Midwestern State University Wichita Falls 4 year
Navarro College Navarro 2 year
North Central Texas College Cooke, Denton, Montague Counties 2 year
Northeast Texas Community College Titus County 2 year
Odessa College Odessa 2 year
Panola College Carthage 2 year
Paris Junior College Paris 2 year
Prairie View A&M University Prairie View 4 year
Ranger College Ranger 2 year
Sam Houston State University Huntsville 4 year
San Jacinto College Houston 2 year
South Plains College Levelland 2 year
South Texas College Rio Grande Valley 2 year
Southern Assemblies of God University Waxahachie Private
Southwest Texas Junior College Uvalde County 2 year
Stephen F. Austin State University Nacogdoches 4 year
Sul Ross State University Alpine 4 year
Tarleton State University Stephenville 4 year
Tarrant County Community College Tarrant County 2 year
Temple Junior College Temple 2 year
Texarkana College Texarkana 2 year
Texas A&M International University Lerado 2 year
Texas A&M University College Station 4 year
Texas A&M University-Central Texas Killeen 4 year
Texas A&M University-Commerce Commerce 4 year
Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi Corpus Christi 4 year
Texas A&M University – Kingsville Kingsville 4 year
Texas A&M University-San Antonio San Antonio 4 year
Texas A&M University – Texarkana Texarkana 4 year
Texas State University San Marco 4 year
Texas Southern University Houston 4 year
Texas Tech University  Lubbock 4 year
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Lubbock 4 year
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center – El Paso El Paso 4 year
Texas Woman’s University Denton 4 year
Trinity Valley Community College Athens 2 year
Tyler Junior College  Tyler 2 year
University of Houston Houston 4 year
University of Houston – Clear Lake Clear Lake 4 year
University of Houston – Clear Lake Downtown 4 year
University of Houston – Victoria Victoria 4 year
University of North Texas Denton 4 year
University of North Texas at Dallas Dallas 4 year
University of North Texas Health Science Center Fort Worth 4 year
University of Texas at Arlington Arlington 4 year
University of Texas at Austin Austin 4 year
University of Texas at Dallas Dallas 4 year
University of Texas at El Paso  El Paso 4 year
University of Texas at San Antonio San Antonio 4 year
University of Texas at Tyler Tyler 4 year
University of Texas of the Permian Basin Odessa 4 year
University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Rio Grande Valley 4 year
Vernon College Vernon 2 year
Victoria College Victoria 2 year
Weatherford College Weatherford 2 year
West Texas A&M University Canyon 4 year
Wharton Junior College Wharton 2 year


SEE: Texas Department of Public Safety Handgun Licensing

Updated:  June 24, 2022

Disclaimer: Policies are subject to change at any time, both during and between school years. In addition, individual school policies commonly include more details than can be succinctly captured by Each school should be consulted for its most accurate, up-to-date policy.