Laws Concerning Carrying Concealed Firearms On Campus in Colorado

colorado-gunsThe Colorado Court of Appeals has ruled twice that under the Colorado Concealed Carry Act (2003), the Colorado Board of Regents does not have the authority to ban concealed carry license holders from carrying their firearms on public campuses (Colorado State in 2010 and the University of Colorado in 2012).  Though the law remains unclear, many colleges and universities have banned firearms from dorms, dining halls, and event centers.
Please see each individual school’s weapons policy for more details.

Schools in Colorado Where Concealed Guns on Campus are Permitted by Law

College Town Type
Adams State University Alamosa 4-year
Arapahoe Community College Littleton, Parker, Castle Rock 2-year
Colorado Mesa University Grand Junction 4-year
Colorado Mountain College – Alpine Steamboat Springs 2-year
Colorado Mountain College – Aspen Aspen 2-year
Colorado Mountain College – Rifle Rifle 2-year
Colorado Mountain College – Roaring Fork Carbondale & Glenwood Springs 2-year
Colorado Mountain College – Summit Breckenridge & Dillon 2-year
Colorado Mountain College – Timberline Buena Vista & Leadville 2-year
Colorado Mountain College – Vail – Eagle Valley Eagle & Edwards 2-year
Colorado Northwestern Community College Meeker, Hayden & Oak Creek 2-year
Colorado Northwestern Community College – Craig Craig 2-year
Colorado Northwestern Community College – Rangely Rangely 2-year
Colorado School of the Mines Golden 4-year
Colorado State University Fort Collins 4-year
Colorado State University – Pueblo  Pueblo 4-year
Community College of Aurora Aurora 2-year
Community College of Denver  Denver 2-year
Fort Lewis College  Durango 4-year
Front Range Community College Westminster, Fort Collins & Longmont 2-year
Lamar Community College  Lamar 2-year
Metropolitan State University of Denver  Denver 4-year
Morgan Community College  Fort Morgan, Bennett, Burlington, Limon & Wray 2-year
Northeastern Junior College Sterling 2-year
Otero Community College La Junta 2-year
Pikes Peak Community College Colorado Springs & Falcon 2-year
Pueblo Community College Pueblo 2-year
Red Rocks Community College Lakewood & Arvada 2-year
Trinidad State Junior College – Alamosa Alamosa 2-year
Trinidad State Junior College – Trinidad Trinidad 2-year
University of Colorado at Boulder Boulder 4-year
University of Colorado at Colorado Springs Colorado Springs 4-year
University of Colorado at Denver Denver & Aurora 4-year
University of Northern Colorado Greeley 4-year
Western Colorado Community College Grand Junction 2-year
Western Colorado Community College – Bishop Grand Junction 2-year
Western State Colorado University Gunnison 4-year

Do Colorado residents need a permit to carry concealed firearms in public? Yes. Colorado has a “shall-issue” permitting system for residents who want to carry concealed firearms in public. This means that law enforcement officials must issue a permit to any resident who meets a basic set of requirements (see below). The permit is good for five years, after which time it must be renewed.

How much training is required to obtain the permit? A one-time, three-hour, sit-down class in gun safety. Applicants are not required to do any range training or live-fire exercises.

 

Does Colorado allow permit holders from other states to carry firearms inside their borders? Yes. Colorado has formal reciprocity agreements with the following states and allows their residents with concealed handgun permits to carry firearms inside Colorado: AK, AZ, UT, ID, MT, WY, NM, TX, ND, SD, NE, KS, OK, MO, AR, LA, MS, AL, TN, KY, IN, MI, GA, FL, NC, PA, and NH.

 

Can permit holders openly carry firearms on a college campus?  No. On campus In Colorado, firearms must be completely concealed and out of sight.

 

Who’s not allowed to carry concealed firearms in public in Colorado? The following categories of individuals are prohibited under law from obtaining a concealed carry permit in Colorado: Those under the age of 21; convicted felons; those convicted of third-degree assault or third-degree sexual assault; those convicted of misdemeanor child abuse or domestic abuse; those under an active restraining order; those who are subject to an outstanding warrant for arrest, certain individuals previously adjudicated as juvenile delinquents; those who have two or more alcohol-related convictions within the previous 10 years; those who have a conviction for use or possession of a controlled substance within the past year; those who have multiple arrests for use or possession of a controlled substance within the past five years; those who have been adjudicated mentally defective; adjudicated mentally incompetent to manage their own affairs; or committed to a mental institution.

 

How do Colorado officials determine who falls into these prohibited categories? According to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation, the following databases are searched during the screening on an applicant for a concealed handgun permit: National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS); National Crime Information Center (NCIC); the Interstate Identification Index (III); Colorado Crime Information Center (CCIC); and the Colorado Court database (for criminal and civil court records- no additional detection for mentally adjudicated)

 

What potentially dangerous individuals would be able to qualify for a Colorado concealed carry permit? Those who have previously been under, but are no longer under an active restraining order or protection order; those who had more than three years previously been known for chronically and habitually used alcoholic beverages to the extent that the applicants normal faculties were impaired; those who have had two or more alcohol-related convictions more than 10 years ago; those who have multiple arrests for use or possession of a controlled substance more than five years ago. Those who are mentally ill and a threat to themselves and/or others, but who have not been adjudicated as a “mental defective” or involuntarily committed.